Store-Bought Emotions

[This post includes reference to another blog post,  http://laverdessecrets.wordpress.com/2014/02/26/treasure-trove-trix/ ].

 

On the Friday before Spring Break, a few friends and I walked over to The Muddy Charles.  No, not the Charles River-that’s icy right now after all.  If you are still clueless about The Muddy, it’s a bar on campus.  A BAR ON CAMPUS! Yea, it exists.  That’s Building 50, Walker Memorial.   So there we are at the bar, which was till pretty empty at 3pm, and I had been craving  chocolate all afternoon.   I mean, to be fare, I am as a rule craving chocolate.  Nothing new.   So my friend bought some chips and a pitcher.  The Muddy sells some snacks-chips, sometimes candy, but nothing chocolatey.  I went out on a limb, with (my own personal translation of) Matthew 7:7 speaking to me in a chocolate-covered voice.

“Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and [the fresh bagel door] … shall be opened unto you” –The Bible, King James Version, Matthew 7:7

So I just asked!

 “Do you have any chocolate?”

And this bartender lit up and told me, “We don’t have any out here, but we actually have some in the back for the employees.. I’ll bring some out!” So she brought out for me a handful of pastel foil covered chocolate eggs and I nearly died in amazement.  Seriously, you just have to ask.

So on the topic of chocolate,  have you guys had Koala’s March snacks? I first tried them last week, shared with me from another M.Arch, who purchased the snack at the Korean market.

koala

They are so cute and clearly marketed for children.  But they reminded me of another chocolatey/wafer snack, which can be purchased at LaVerde’s: the Pepperidge Farm Pirouette.  I mean, I’m sure there’s a lot of die-hard Koala or Pirouette fans that would disagree, but they seem to be fundamentally the same stuff.

pirouette

The difference is in the packaging and presentation.

When we have final reviews, the professor will send the TA to LaVerde’s (where else?) to purchase snacks for the critics that they can whip out at the 6th hour of review when the critics are about to drop dead of exhaustion and can only be brought back to life by a metric jolt of sugar.  The TAs always bring back Milano cookies and Pirouettes.  Quite possibly the most classy, luxury food product you can buy at LaVerde’s. (Luxury beverage being oranginO)  Well, can you imagine these top notch critics, in their black blazers  and 3D printed jewelry, throwing back some Koala Marches?  No. They’re going to daintily extract this wafer-clad chocolate rod that sounds vaguely French and apparently made on a farm from a fancy reusable tin.  It’s all about packaging and presentation! The experience!  The dream!  The emotions!

It’s why I buy cereal on late-night trips to LaVerde’s, because it brings back the pleasant childhood ritual of eating cereal every morning before school after waking up at the same early hour after having slept a decent amount the night before.  Something that I can only experience now through memory and generous amounts of sugar and milk.  Buying coke (coca-cola…not the other stuff) brings back memories of my summer in Barcelona where I somehow got hooked on it as an alternative to hot coffee on warm summer all-nighters.  Buying Lindt’s super-dark chocolate bars reminds me of my roommate in Buffalo in undergrad, who would buy the best of whatever it was she was eating-like the “good bread” she would buy at the grocery store bakery that was freshest on Tuesdays.  AND HOLY SH*T BIG RED GUM*.  So many memories.  My mom used to feed my sister and me Big Red cinnamon gum to pacify us while we went grocery shopping (at WEGMANS! HOLLLAAAA).

So I just want to remind you, that while you might go off to Kenya or Quito or Indonesia or India or Venice for Spring Break, La Verde’s will be waiting for you when you come back with aisles and aisles of nostalgia, memories and emotions to remind you of these places and everywhere else you have ever dreamed of being.  Or day-dreamed of being.   Let’s be real, you haven’t had sufficient REM sleep for dreams since IAP.

La Verde’s is the vehicle to take you where you want to go.

 

*WARNING: Big Red gum should only be chewed in moderation.  Do not attempt to go through an entire pack while pulling an all-nighter.  Your jaw will hurt and your tongue will have second-degree burns from all that spicy.  This is real.

Leave a Reply

