Building Inside

Last week I was trying to clean out my iphone because I’ve reached my limit in terms of storage.  While eliminating some unnecessary and potentially embarrassing images, I noticed a kind of mini-theme in some of the things that I gravitate toward photographing. In particular, I’ve started a kind of small obsession with buildings inside of buildings, or maybe just a fascination with spaces inside of other spaces. And while you might automatically think of the Mosque in Cordoba (I did!), I’ve also noticed I like some goofier, vernacular specimens as well. I think what unifies the following images, is the unexpected nature of how these buildings are so UN-self-conscious about their amazing weirdness.

Hoover Dam, Nevada/Arizona, Colorado River

Hoover Dam, Nevada/Arizona, Colorado River

Hoover Dam - Power plant inside a HUGE wall

Hoover Dam – Power plant inside a HUGE wall

The Drink Den: a cold beverage hideout behind a generic looking refrigerator facade!

The Drink Den: a cold beverage hideout behind a generic looking refrigerator facade!

The front door to the "Den"

The front door to the “Den”

Mike's Bikes: Literally a building inside of a billboard

Mike’s Bikes: Literally a building inside of a billboard

Piggyback advertising.

Piggyback advertising.

The Mosque at Cordoba. The *best* building inside of a building.

The Mosque at Cordoba. The *best* building inside of a building.

Cordoba: Mosque with a cathedral inside. Ceiling of side chapel.

Cordoba: Mosque with a cathedral inside. Ceiling of side chapel.

Cathedral invades mosque.

Cathedral invades mosque.

Leave a Reply

