CHRIS BALLANTYNE: Leaving Lines Behind

In the last few weeks  I’ve been scouring the internet in search of images that convey the tone that I’d like my thesis to have. Tone is a slippery thing, so I’ve been adding and subtracting images with the aid of Pinterest (which contrary to popular belief has more than just thinspiration). In my search I stumbled across these paintings by Chris Ballantyne and thought, “I need to show these to my internet friends.”

When the World was Flat, Chris Ballantyne

When the World was Flat, Chris Ballantyne

When the World was Flat, Chris Ballantyne

When the World was Flat, Chris Ballantyne

When the World was Flat, Chris Ballantyne

When the World was Flat, Chris Ballantyne

For me, they mix the melancholy tone of Edward Hopper with the aesthetic of Ed Ruscha and the colors of Richard Perez. One thing I’ve noticed about them, and about a lot of the things that my eye has been drawn to lately, is that they move away from line-work in favor of fields of color (because my mind works in Illustrator parlance I think, “All fill, no stroke”). As an architecture student it’s a bit challenging to sell ‘drawings without lines,’ but paintings like this make me want to give it a shot.

Update: Because you asked for it : ). If you want to see the Pinterest board I referenced about tone can check it out here. The rest of my boards can be viewed here.

One comment

  1. I love these! You should share your pinterest board so we can pinterestalk you!

Leave a Reply

