AWOL: Firecrackers and my BBQ

Yes, yesterday’s anon post was missing. Between the outdoor grilling, the 90 billion degree weather, and biking through Cambridge to try and wrangle a good spot for watching the fireworks, I managed to convince myself that this post could wait. I apologize for not keeping up with my end of the bargin: (I post, you read).

Taking the 4th as my inspiration, I can’t tell you how much I love summer. Especially, because it means more outdoor time!

Busting out the grill is always a satisfying experience. While I don’t have a fancy backyard or deck, I’ve managed to stash my grill in my parking space and have been firing it up a lot in the past couple of months. Yesterday, as I was watching the charcoal chimney do its thing, I had a quick moment of summer bliss because I realized that my living space had become huge, without my even knowing it. Well, duh – as an architect it’s second nature to realize that summer living means an expanded living space, but it’s a whole other thing to bask in it. I can’t tell you how much I enjoyed my parking space in that moment.

Happy 4th of July! I hope it was filled with big, outdoor spaces and big crackly, sparkly things exploding above.

Leave a Reply

