ON THE ROAD: Glitchy Panoramas

The workshop is busy! Today we went to visit the Sifang Collective on the outskirts of Nanjing. It was interesting, but maybe not for the reasons one would expect. Its a complex of about 20 buildings done by various, (mostly) famous architects: Steven Holl, Arata Isozaki, Wang Shu, Ai Weiwei, etc. The project was begun about 10 years ago and at present about half of the proposed buildings are complete, many of which are closed for repairs. I have to admit that it seemed a bit like a cautionary tale for taking water detailing seriously.

On the way there I was taking videos from the bus of the Chinese landscape when I thought, “I wonder what a panorama from a moving car looks like?” Below are the results. I’m really excited by them. Perhaps its growing up at the time I did, but computerized glitchy pseudo collages get me every time.



Leave a Reply

